Hello world!

I decided to start this blog in order to share the story I have written about the 50th Anniversary of John Coltrane’s October 21, 1960 recording of his landmark song “My Favorite Things” and 18 other classic songs recorded on the 21st, 24th, and 26th of October 1960.  I started working on some of this content in 2006. But even with four years to prepare, it is still a scramble to get everything complete in time for the anniversary (nothing like having a deadline to get something done!).

My plan is to post the story in three sections: (1) on October 21st, 2010 I will write about the introduction and background of Coltrane’s life and first 10+ years of his career; (2) on October 24th, 2010 I will write about the formation of Coltrane’s famous “Classic Quartet” and a summary of all of the changes the U.S. and the world went through in 1960; and (3) on October 26th, 2010 I will share a more in-depth look at my favorite songs from these sessions and more thoughts on Coltrane and life.

I hope you might enjoy the story and would be thrilled to hear from you, good, bad, or indifferent!

About shawllobree

my family, John Coltrane, rock-n-roll, great food, great beer, cooking, seeing the world, ideas, knowledge, learning from new people, dogs, movies, college football.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

